Shanghai, 1927

1.

A middle aged man
feathers his leather jacket

Schooner of Becks and a bowl
of hot chips, please.

Turning the tap, she spies:
airmail paper, tobacco pouch, lighter.

So you’ll be sitting
outside then?

2.

I am familiar with little – William
Blake included.

Did not have the ‘lay of the
shoreline’ before I took flight.

Wandered around in my own
skin for too long

I suppose, and measured up
with a little ruler.

Accurate results. I can see
repeating themes from up here now

when I imagine my feet
on the ground.

Reference cited:

Squires, Paul. Seeking Solace in the Unknown: The Puzzle Box. Lulu.com: www, 2008?

2 Responses

  1. Fantastic to see the old Orchid Room get a posting after all this time, Brad. And a very cool pome too. Maybe we should fire it up again properly?

  2. Thanks Paul. Sounds like a plan!

Leave a Reply

